Seminars

 Native American Genocides

 

(Theme-connected event denoted with *)

Fall 2018

Thursday, September 27
     11:30-1:00, 77 Prospect, room A001
Alain Chouraqui
Musée Camp des Milles near Aix-en-Provence
“Democracy in Danger: When societal debates are dominated by national, ethnic, and religious identity”
 
 
Monday , October 1
     1:30-3:00, 241 Rosenkranz Hall
Jean-Damascene Gasanabo
Rwandan National Commission for the Fight against Genocide
“Confronting Denial”
 
 
Thursday, October 4
     1:30-3:20, 77 Prospect, room A001
Daniel Bultmann
University of Seigen, German
“The Social Order of Post-Conflict Transition in Cambodia”
 
 
Thursday, October 11
    12:00-1:50, 34 Hillhouse Ave, Luce 203
Michael Kalisa
Legal Specialist, ABA-Rule of Law Initiative in Central African Republic
“The Legal and Political Legacies of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (UN-ICTR)”
 
 
Tuesday, October 16
     12:00-1:50, 26 High St, Native American Cultural Center
Sandy White Hawk
Founder of the First Nations Repatriation Institute
“Native American Cultural Genocide and Truth and Reconciliation”
 
 
Wednesday, October 17
     6:00-8:00, 127 Wall St, Yale Law School Room 127
Screening of “Dawnland”
 
 
Thursday, November 8
     1:30-3:20, 77 Prospect room, ISPS A001
Benjamin Madley
University of California, Los Angeles
“An American Genocide: The United States and the California Indian Catastrophe, 1846-1873”
 
 
Thursday, November 15
     1:30-3:20, 77 Prospect room, ISPS A001
Hans-Lukas Kieser
University of Newcastle
“Talaat Pasha: Father of Modern Turkey, Architect of Genocide” (2018)
 
 
Thursday, November 29
     1:00-4:45, Sterling Library auditorium
“Remembering Dori Laub: His Contributions to Holocaust Studies, Memory Studies, and Genocide Studies”, featuring Lawrence Langer, Joanne Rudof, Ben Kiernan, Taylor Krauss, Ohadi Ufaz, and more.
 

 

Spring 2018

 
*Tuesday, February 28
Christine DeLucia
Mt. Holyoke College
 
 
Additional TBA